Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Which Glucosamine: N-acetyl, hydrochloride, sulfate?

Posted by Karl on 5/03/98 at 20:13 (000109)

A health source of mine says N-acetyl glucosamine and glucosamine hydrochloride have not been proven effective. N-acetyl is said to bind to dietary substances in the intestinal tract, and is then excreted with the body's waste materials. Studies claim that glucosamine sulfate is best aborbed by the body.

Also, Chondroitin sulfate molecules are said to be too large to be absorbed. It seems the only product to use is 100% Glucosamine Sulfate.

Anyone else have similar findings?

Re: Which Glucosamine: N-acetyl, hydrochloride, sulfate?

Diane R. on 5/04/98 at 19:53 (000113)

Interesting to read your comments on the types of supplements, Karl. Natures Way brand - which I have been using for several months just states Glucosamine - 500 mg glucosamine on the front label - but in small print in back both types HCL and sulfate are shown on the ingredients. I just bought a different brand because it was the large economy size (cheap at Sams Club) and it also contains the Chondroitin - will test it out to see if it seems better, the same, or worse and report my experiences here in a month or so.

Cindy on 5/05/98 at 11:41 (000115)

I tried Glucosamine months ago for 2 months with no result. But, I have no idea what I was taking. So, after reading all these posts, I am trying again. I bought a compound with all 3 types that you mention, plus the chondrotin. I've only been doing it a few days, but I think I am a little better already! Maybe the power of suggestion, but time will tell.

Rita on 5/05/98 at 14:51 (000116)