Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

chiropractor adjustments to the foot

Posted by Stacy on 2/04/98 at 11:21 (000244)

I am an aerobics instructor and have had PF for about 9 months now. I have seen two podiatrists, got custom orthotics, used taping, stretching, and ice. I got cortizone shots which cured me for about 2 or 3 months but the symptoms came back just as bad as they were before. Plus, the shots were agonizing. I've now just started seeing a chiropractor at a physical therapy place at my health club. He seems really competent and has indicated a course of ultrasound, electric stimulation, and adjustments to the foot. The ultrasound and electric stim seem pretty mainstream and both podiatrists I have seen agree that both methods are useful for PF; I am wondering if anyone has experience with or knowledge of the usefulness of chiropractic adjustments to the foot for PF. The chiropractor gently rotated my foot and pointed out a clicking noise that he said was due to some sort of misallignment of my foot. He told me that adjustments would result in biomechanical changes which would prevent the PF from recurring. Any thoughts?

Re: chiropractor adjustments to the foot

John on 9/05/98 at 14:11 (001637)

I have been going to a chiropractor 22 years and I swear by them. By adjusting your spine, they allow the nervous system to work at its potential and then the body does the healing.
Ive never had Plantar Fascitis, but I know that a chiropractor won't make your situation worse, it can only help.
By the way, Shaira, why would you do something for ten years if it wasn't working at all?

Dr. Roc Byrd on 9/05/98 at 21:28 (001645)

Stacy,