Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Is there anyone who has had a workman's comp case re PF due to a job where you have to stand all day?

Posted by kzeus on 6/26/98 at 21:11 (000860)

I have PF, and like all of you out there, I have good days, and bad days. My workman's compensation carrier recently turned my case down based on 2 factors. #1) that my standing on my feet did not contribute to it and #2) that continued standing on my feet has not exacerbated my problem. It's the #2 that I'm having a problem accepting.

I am not overweight, have never had any feet problems (or health problems, for that matter), and am a very sedentary person - have never been a runner, or played sports, etc. I am a teacher and the type of work I do requires for me to stand on my feet for 6-7 hour a day. I have initiated a workman's compensation claim, although I love my job, and hope that my PF will never be so crippling, but rather am doing it to document that I do have this condition, so that if I ever do have to have surgery or take time from work it will have been documented.

I would be very interested to hear from anyone who has been through a workman's comp case that involves PF, or any related sites that would help me to understand whether I have a legitimate case. Please feel free to e-mail me privately if you do not wish to post. Thank you in advance.

Re: Is there anyone who has had a workman's comp case re PF due to a job where you have to stand all day?

Rita on 6/27/98 at 13:32 (000865)

I never had a workman's comp case, but it is interesting that you are a teacher, I am too. It seems, from what I've read in these posts that many of us teach. I cannot say that mine came from the job, I attribute my PF to a new dog and long long walks with improper shoes.

Re: Is there anyone who has had a workman's comp case re PF due to a job where you have to stand all day?