Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

A cast to rest my foot????

Posted by DaNita on 7/08/98 at 20:57 (000942)

Well, it has been almost 3 months since my last surgery, No results as of yet, I cannot even make it around the block walking. So doctor has me in a cast that is tilted down as if walking on tip toes. Needless to say I am on crutches. Her theroy is to rest my foot. I have been resting my foot for 2 yrs now and it hasn't helped yet. My other foot is so bad I can hardly get around on the crutches. Will this nightmare ever end?

Re: A cast to rest my foot????

Gina on 7/09/98 at 22:14 (000954)

Got my 'walking cast' on June 25 and had what felt like a severe flare up of PF pain. After a week of that, I was put on crutches to be 'non-weight bearing.' During the week on crutches, I still experienced an ache in my heel, when resting the foot on floor while sitting. Will get the cast off in another week and am not optimistic about the results (cast is coming off a week early--after 3 weeks rather than 4). Now Dr. wants to do EMG for nerve impairment, but since I was doing better before casting, I think I will wait and see how things go for a few weeks when the cast is off. What i was told is that the cast is supposed to help because the foot is immobilized in the 'proper' position at all times, rather than just being rested--you can take that for what it's worth
I am truly coming to understand the meaning of desperation :) Good luck with it!

Paul on 7/20/98 at 17:44 (001038)