Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Has anyone had to quit their job?

Posted by Bobbie on 1/06/99 at 00:00 (003097)

I am afraid that I will have to quit my job because I simply can't stand or walk all day. The pain is doing me in. I don't want to quit but I see no alternative to this on going problem. Yesterday was an ok day but today was unbearable. Even on good days the pain is there with every step I take. I do not want to live on pain pills and have opted not to use them but I am at my wits end. I have had 3 acupuncture treatments and I was hoping they were helping but now I am not so sure. I am not ready for retirement yet.

Re: Has anyone had to quit their job?

HELEN on 1/06/99 at 00:00 (003099)

YES

I am a former nurse - I had to quit because of the PF. I now have a sit down job (at a computer all day). I have also talked with another former nurse who had to quit. It was really frustrating to give up a career that I had gone to school for & worked so hard to get!

Dayna on 1/07/99 at 00:00 (003106)

Yup. My employer had a very strict dress code, heels for women, no exceptions. After a few months of allowing me to wear Nursey Nancy orthopedic shoes and use a cane when needed, the rule came down to get myself back to a presentable appearance or there would be consequences. I had no choice but to resign before I was fired. I now have another job, luckily in the same industry (computers) where my boss also has PF so we both run around in our flats and orthotics. Her PF is slightly different than mine, she can wear sandals, she uses double-stick tape to keep the orthotics in place. I suppose I could have taken them to court, but why bother, I did know about the dress code when I accepted the position but Really! At least I did not have to change careers, I really sympathize with those who have lost their livelihood to this disease.

Suzy on 1/07/99 at 00:00 (003110)