Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Birkenstocks vs. look-a-likes?

Posted by JanetT. on 3/01/99 at 00:00 (005160)

I have been dealing with PF since last summer. I have been wearing sneakers only for the last 3 months and i have to say my foot has improved. I have also been using a night splint since Dec. 9. it is a rental and I have to send it back this week. i'm hoping i won't regress by not using the night splint. Anyway, I have improved to the point where I can put my full weight on my heel now. It still aches but I don't have to walk on tiptoe any more. I haven't done my treadmill in about 2 months and I am reluctant to start up again. I bought a new piece of exercise equipment-an eccliptical machine. Supposed to be a cross trainer-sort of a cross between a treadmill and a stair stepper. Has anyone had any experience with this sort of machine? I am very interested to try out Birkenstocks after reading about the success of so many people on this site with them. But they are so expensive. I saw in a L.L.Bean catalog Bean's cork sandals that look identical to Birkenstocks. Does anyone know whether they would be just as good? They only cost $32.00 compared to $95.00 for the Birks.I'd appreciate anyone's input on this. Are they just as good, almost as good, or forget it and spend the extra money on the Birks????

Re: Birkenstocks vs. look-a-likes?

Bea on 3/02/99 at 00:00 (005170)

I think it would be better to go with the real Birks. They havew been in business for a long time and have an excellent reputation. There are a lot of look alikes around at all prices but as far as the site is concerned Birks are the ones most people seem to have success with.

Sue on 3/02/99 at 00:00 (005172)