Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

carpal tunnel syndrome (sorry, it's long)

Posted by Robin on 6/15/99 at 00:00 (007835)

A few days ago, Scott and some others posted regarding carpal tunnel syndrome and its relation to PF. Here's my story. I have managed to beat carpal tunnel successfully without surgery so maybe this will help someone with CTS and PF.

In late 1995, I was diagnosed with carpal tunnel syndrome in both wrists. (I am a professional writer and have been for more than 25 years. I have spent many of those years on a keyboard. CTS was not a surprise.) Ten years earlier, my right wrist was operated on for DeQuervain syndrome (similar to CTS except it affects the thumb); the operation was successful, but I was not anxious to have two more surgeries.

The CTS was extremely severe. I couldn't hold open a book or tie shoes or write or carry a bag without pain. Even the orthopedic surgeon (who was quite conservative) didn't suggest interim measures; he suggested surgery. At the time, I was between jobs and also relocating from the northeast to the southeast, so I decided to take a few months and see if I could repair the damage myself. Here is what I did.

1) I wore metal-braced carpal tunnel splints on both hands all the time, every minute of every day except for in the shower. I did this for about six months. Then for the next six months, I wore them only when I used my hands and when I slept -- which was probably 16 to 18 hours a day. Constant splinting was critical for me.

2) I used my hands as little as possible. I took a few months off to move so I wasn't working, but even when I started working again, I took 'alternative' kinds of jobs where I didn't have to use my hands very much (hostessing in restaurants, etc. -- not real lucrative, but they got me through, along with my savings). In effect, I stayed off a keyboard for over a year.