Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Conservative Treatment

Posted by Darlene W. on 10/09/99 at 00:00 (011604)

Although my left foot had been hurting me for some time (almost a year), I did not go to a dr until the end of August. I work as a bookkeeper in a grocery store (8 years)and stand 32 to 40 hours per week on concrete. I am also very flat footed. X-rays were taken of both my feet and bone spurs were evident on both feet. Actually the bone spurs were worse on my right foot, but that foot does not hurt.
Since the first visit, I have had two cortisone shots, wear custom made orthotics, take an anti-inflammatory, and presently am going through ultrasound therapy.
I have been off work since then. If needed, I have 26 weeks of sick leave. Before I went to the drs in August, at the end of a work shift, I couldn't stand on my left foot and when I sat down, it hurt worse, like my heel was falling off. Now, in October, I can manage the pain by keeping off my feet. But if I walk or stand constantly for two hours or more, it hurts terribly. I wear the orthotics faithfully but sometimes when the pain starts I can't stand to have anything touching the back of my heel.
The one thing that I can do and I call it my freedom, is ride my bike. I sometimes ride 3 or 4 miles a day and it does not hurt at all. That amazes me.
I asked my dr about surgery and he said that since I was making some progress, he would not consider surgery until I have followed 6 months of conservative care. He also suggested that perhaps I might want to consider changing jobs to one that I would not be standing all day.