Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Where I stand (no, sit) today

Posted by Nancy S. on 12/15/99 at 00:00 (013757)

I can hardly find words to express how much this site has affected me since I first found it about 5 days ago. I'd spent the last 8 months in despair as I saw my daily life shrink to consisting of limping around, some days refusing to give in to the pain and thus overdoing activities and making it worse; other days, sleeping and lying in bed depressed and feeling guilty over not getting things accomplished. For many years I was a freelance book editor and got little exercise; 5 years ago I began buying and selling rustic antiques and loved the exercise, getting out with people, and feeling more a part of the world. When the heel spur / PF hit me, in May, I felt that my new work life was being 'stolen' from me. I continued to feel that way and had scheduled EPF surgery for January, after trying the very few conservative treatments my podiatrist had offered me. Then I posted here, and read many many messages and guestbook entries, not to mention Scott's work, and came to several realizations. The most important was that I had to stop feeling like a victim, like my life has been 'stolen' from me; I have to take more control and try more to heal myself rather than depend on the podiatrist's limited, halfhearted approach; I have to accept what is happening, listen to it, pay attention, and work with it -- and allow the other joys I know to stay in my life.