Mysterious ingredients that can mean gluten
special edible starch
'Corn' has two meanings. One is corn made from corn-on-the-cob (maize, usually in the form of cornflour or corn starch. The other meaning of 'corn' is broader and stands for any kind of grain including wheat, rye, barley and oats. In the UK we are used to the first meaning bt in other countries, especially the USA, it means grain of all kinds. Therefore cornflour or cornstarch cannot be trusted to be made from gluten-free maize, unless it says so.
Wheat starch is often labelled as gluten free but in the UK up to 0.02% of gluten is allowed!!!
Alcoholic drinks are sometimes made from gluten containing ingredients. whisky = rye
beer = barley and wheat
gluten free dieter would probably do best to avoid ales. beers and lagers
vinegar involves barley
MSG (monosodium glutamate) is made from wheat
Malt comes from barley
Communion wafers are mostly made from wheat.
These foods normally contain gluten
baking powder (raisng agent)
chutneys and pickles
one last worry is that some restaurants thin down their pepper by adding wheat flour to it!!!!!
Sorry this is so long. I hope it helps