Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

today's orthopod visit.........please help

Posted by dfeet on 4/03/00 at 00:00 (018187)

Hi, everyone. Again I'm pretty new to this internet/message board, so bear with me. I had a follow up visit with the orthopod today. Not very encouraging for my condition(TTS, bilaterally). Good news is bloodwork was all normal(although I was hoping for somethinglike hypothyroidism to shed some light on a cause). He said the TTS was probably brought on by the initial PF injury and perhaps the rigid orthotics causing enough inflamation which compressed the nerves. He said that we pretty much exhausted the scope of conservative treatment, and as the orthopod himself is against, he suggested perhaps, as a long shot, the surgical approach. I have to be honest, I do kind of feel depressed. 'Dfeeted'( sorry, but if I don't make jokes I think I'm going to cry). He said to do anything that gives me relief- PT, home exercises, IB . He said that at this point I can do what ever will make me feel better, even continuing tennis, hiking,sports, etc. He said I could not suffer any more significant damage and to continue if I could stand to tolerate the pain. He wants to see me again in a couple of months or sooner If I chose. He said he will leave it up to me. I asked for another injection in the other foot. It is not pleasant but it gets the job done if only for a temporary fix. The PF has completely healed but the TTS is horrible. I'm at a loss. Too much to absorb in one day. I'm going to PT later today and will run everthing by him. Any suggestions? This web site is incredible; It has kept my perspective and has given me a lot of insight. Everyone here is such a help. A sincere thank you to all!!

Re: today's orthopod visit.........please helpRE dfeet

Laurie R on 4/03/00 at 00:00 (018189)

Hello dfeet,