Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Has anyone tried SuperFeet inserts? And doc and Ph Th. disagree.

Posted by Beverly on 4/17/00 at 00:00 (018854)

I am new to this condition. I've only had it a month. I'm the one who wrote about relasping - in much pain. Anyway, I went back to the foot doctor. He said to stay with his ready made (not custom) inserts for now. If they don't work, we'll go to the custom. I went to the athletic shoe store doc likes. It's owned by a runner who is very knowlegable, and actually had PF himself and got better. The store owner highly reccommened 'Superfeet' inserts. For $30.00 it seemed worth a try. They cover the entire foot; so they don't slip like the foot doc's did (The doc's went from heel to beyond arch but not all the way to the toe and were soft and bendable) Superfeet feel firmer - soft ontop but firm bottom. There were several varities. I got the ones for shoes that have removable footbeds. Any experience out there?

I can see this is a trial and error thing. Should I bite the bullet and spend the $$ for the custom inserts? (They are nonrigid. My dad swears by his for a totally different problem.) I have high arches. I pronate a some but not alot. I have a painful PF strain in both feet but not a tear. I have not given into a night splint yet, and doc thinks rest, ice, and orthotics/proper shoes will get me better.