Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Re: I'm a non-stretcher

Posted by Robin B. on 4/18/00 at 00:00 (018916)

I am very atypical of most people on this board and I am the first one to admit it. But -- I am a non-stretcher. Even slight stretching causes me continuing pain. And I am not a believer in stretching simply because 98% of the people with PF stretch. I'm a believer in doing what relieves pain -- whatever that may be.

I don't stretch. I have been attacking PF for 2 years now and have gone from indescribable, excrutiating 24-hour a day pain that brought me to tears more often than I want to talk about -- to a now fairly normal life. I can walk 2-3 miles a day if I want (I usually ride my bike, though), I can clean my house, go shopping at the mall for several hours, wait in line -- and not be in constant pain.

I stretched like a good soldier -- and wondered for months on end why it wasn't helping. Now I don't even CARE why it wasn't helping. Against my own better judgment, I stopped and pursued recovery in other directions (Birks, bromelain and low-carb, plus non-weight bearing aerobic exercise have done it for me). Lo and behold...

Beverly, as a person who for many months spent up to 22 hours a day either sitting down or lying down -- and now as a person who is resuming a somewhat normal way of life with pretty low-level pain or no pain at all -- I can tell you that there is no way in heaven or anywhere else that I would hang my heels off a step and lower myself. Even that runners' stretch (leaning up against the wall) used to kill me.