Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Plantar Faciitis & college life

Posted by Karen G on 11/02/00 at 09:13 (031810)

I have now read all of the information on this web site, and one of the things I've noticed is the advice to 'stay off your feet as much as possible.' Well, I would love to have some advice on how to do that when I'm a full time college student! I have a 15 minute walk to the building where my classes are every day. I can't drive because parking is very limited at my campus. I have had pain for about a month now, and it gets worse every day. I just started on Naproxen and I begin my PT sessions today. Are ice & the Naproxen the only things I can do? If there is anything I can do which will help my situation, please let me know!!! Thank you for your help!

Re: Plantar Faciitis & college life - taping

Julie F on 11/02/00 at 09:59 (031814)

Karen, I've found taping a help. It supplies the support needed by the arch when it is weakened due to the tear in the fascia. You've read the PF Book, so have a look again at the taping section (in Vol 2). There are several ways of doing it. I like very much Scott's simple favourite: two strips of athletic tape connecting the heel and the ball of the foot. It works for me, and I can walk reasonable distances - when I have to - quite comfortably. It's certainly worth a try.

Have you had an evaluation by a doctor specializing in feet?

Good luck with your studies, Julie

Re: Plantar Faciitis & college life

Dr. Biehler on 11/02/00 at 10:52 (031818)