Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Hockey

Posted by Jason on 11/28/00 at 16:40 (033744)

Hello, I am doing some research on heel pain I have just recently noticed. I started playing Ice Hockey about eight months ago and after a long story I finaly ended up with a correctly fitting pair of skates. Now as I am breaking them in I have severe pain on the back of my heel, not the bottom of my foot. One night as I was rubbing my heel my wife gasped at the protrusion of my heel bone -slightly off to one side and 1/4 inch from the 'normal' curve of my heel. In all my life I had never noticed this. I went back through old tennis shoes (2 years worth) and it turns out this protrusion had worn through the fabric on all my shoes and to the plastic shell. I am guessing this is a calcium deposit or just outright deformation of the bone.

Does any one have ideas or suggestions to shrink this if it is not bone?

Thanks!!

Re: Hockey

Richard, C.Ped on 11/29/00 at 09:05 (033790)

Hi Jason,
I must preface this by letting you know that I am not a physician, nor do I claim to be. I am just a simple pedorthist who thinks he knows the answer. It sounds to me as if you have a 'pump bump'. Pump bumps are usually located just lateral to the Achilles tendon proximal to its insertion. It is characterized by a bony prominence. Most of the people with pump bumps that I have spoken with usually have a complaint of local irritation, or swelling due to the 'rubbing' of the shoe counter.

I invite the Dr. B and Dr. Z to please correct me if I am wrong.

Jason on 11/29/00 at 11:18 (033798)