Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Altering Birkenstock footbed

Posted by Valerie S on 3/23/01 at hrmin (042274)

Richard:
I have a pair of orthotics prescribed to me by my podiatrist. At the time of the rx, he mentioned that he knew a couple of people who had had their Birkenstocks altered in place of custom orthotics.

I checked on the Birkenstock website, and they state that a pedorthist can alter the construction of the Birk footbed to fit individual needs. I suffer from PF, although I have been wearing Birks for over 10 years. My orthotics are so hard and do not offer the support that the Birks do. The shoe style I wear has a removable footbed, so I switch back and forth, trying to see what works.

My heels have been killing me since I got the orthotics back, so yesterday I replaced them with the cork footbed. I went through the entire day without pain (until eveningtime anyway), a big relief.

The orthotics make me slide to the outside of my shoes, and I feel like I am wearing high heels. The heel cup is not as deep as the one in my Birks, and they cause much pain to my heels. I have had some frustrations with my foot doctor, including the fact that his orthotic experiments on me seem to be random (he hasn't watched me walk or stand, ever...).

My question is: Have you ever taking a Birkenstock footbed and modifying it to fit individual needs? How expensive is it? Do you recommend it, or do you think that custom orthotics are going to be a lot more durable? I need the big toe box of the Birkenstocks to prevent ingrown toenails from flaring up.

I am not getting satisfactory answers about the orthotics that I got from the podiatrist - should I just keep trying to get used to them?