Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Terrible pain in bottam of feet that extends.......

Posted by Christine La Rock on 4/13/01 at hrmin (044495)

Dear Dr.,
Please help me to figure out what my problem is. I am a 43 yr. old ex-nurse. I am not working anymore so that I can spend more time with my daughter who is 8. I don't think that I would ever be able to go back to work with my feet. If I did I don't know how I would do it. I have been haing this problem for about 3 years now. The pain will start in the arch of my foot right before the heel area. Sometimes it is a stinging, burning sensation and sometimes it is just a real deep ache. It will start after I have been up and around for about an hour or so. This pain will then start in my calves and in the shin areas. It will run on up into the back of my knees. It does not feel at all like it is in the bones of my knees just the deep tissue and flesh in back of my knees. Sometimes it is just such a deep aching feeling that it almost feels like someone has tied a tournique right aboove my knees and just left it there for awhile. It is not a numb feeling just a DEEP ache. It is a bilateral thing and always seems to be equal in pain. By the end of the afternoon I can barely step on my feet they ache so badly along with every bit of my legs from right aboove the knees down to the balls of my feet. Something else that I find is strange is that when that time of the month comes around it seems to be worse. I have been to many doctors and have been put on vioox and celebrex. Motrin 800mg total seems to help the most. The last Dr. I went to told me that he thought I might have Plantar Fasciitis. What do you think. I have read everywhere and have yet to see anyone talking about pain anywhere but in the feet with this condition. What do you think?? Please help me. I sometimes think I might be going nuts or that others think that thi