Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

2 weeks since operation

Posted by Rick on 6/11/01 at hrmin (050420)

Hi
An update for anyone interested:
It's 2 weeks today since my TT release operation on my left foot. The stitches broke early on and the wound was resutured 2 days after the procedure. If all is well the stitches will be removed in another 3 days.
The pain has been minimal and my major issue has been the lack of mobility. As I have TT in my right foot and as my right knee is not terrific, I have found it easier to use a wheelchair. I am progressively finding it less necessary to keep my foot elevated - but this is still important.
Five days ago the surgeon , having examined the wound, said he was happy for me to put a little weight on my left foot. This has not been difficult and I shuffle a few metres from time to time.
My ankle is still very swollen and the flex, particularly upwards, is very limited at this time.
So, to date, I am not unhappy with my progress and am looking forward to doing some swimming for exercise once the stitches have been taken out.
If anyone reading this contemplating surgery then please be most aware that [a] the above is just my experience and may not be yours, and [b] that I do not know what the coming weeks / months will bring in the way of recuperation. At this time I am OK with the way things are going for me, although I feel no 'anxiety' to get my right foot done soon. I think I'll give myself a significant break between surgeries if possible.
Regards
Rick

Re: 2 weeks since operation

Lori R on 6/13/01 at 09:31 (050600)