Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

therapy not helping

Posted by Linda on 6/13/01 at hrmin (050578)

I posted a message in Heelspurs.com Message Board explaining my heelspur and arthritis and tendonitis pain. I have suffered with this pain for 6 weeks. I am a nurse aide in a long term care facility where I perform many heavy lifting, and transferring tasks. I also do alot of bending, kneeling, and squatting. I have suffered cramps and knots in the calf of my left leg. I have taken ibueprophen for an inflamatory. My podiatrist changed the ibueprophen to Arthrotec 75. He gave me a shot of cortizone into my left heel for pain control associated from the heel spur. He then gave me arch supports for my shoes. The cortizone shot helped the pain in my heel, but the pain on my forefoot and around the joint where my leg and foot joins togeather is still very painful, my forefoot just below my toes is swelled and tight feeling, it travels up to meet my joint where the leg and foot join. I work 8 hours a day in this fast paced facility. A lot of pressure and strain are put on my feet. I am having so much pain, I don't know wether to walk on the front part of my foot or the back of my foot. I cannot put the full weight bearing straight down on my foot. I feel like my foot is crushing when I do this. I don't know how to walk to keep from such pain. Please can you help me? I am 51 years old, I have arthritis in my lower spine and left knee and a heel spur. Would a MRI or a ultra sound of my foot be wise? Thank you

Re: Welcome Linda

Tammie on 6/13/01 at hrmin (050590)

Hi Linda,