Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Plantar Fasciitis, ongoing!

Posted by Rachael T. on 9/08/01 at 08:29 (059457)

Hi! I have thoroughly read & appreciated this site - ever since April 1st when I was diagnosed w/ plantar fasciitis. Since that time, I have endured cort. shots, vioxx, celebrex, rigid orthotics, & pain! I've recently begun some 'phono' u/s & amalso frequenting a foot massage studio. I feel like I am getting better, I think! - but oh! - soooo slowly! Every little thing is a possible set back, it seems! Yesterday was one of those 'setback' days. I am a professional show horse trainer - & my dr. HAS gotten me thru the summer, busy season (only 1 more show to go this wkend!). But, my associate HAS truly gotten me thru the season in the business sense, with all the necessary work to keep a show string showing successfully! I have not ridden the last 5 weeks - in order to support the healing process. But, as you can guess yesterday was a set back day - I tried to ride -- riding only 4 horses in the previous 2 days & I ended up icing more than usual on the next day, after those rides! I imagine that my heels are taking a toll when I ride due to the 'heels acting as shock absorbers when riding' as well as Iron pressure, itself, & the dismount--even tho' I am cautious. I ask .... your advisement on the riding sport - when involved with this injury. I also must state that uneven barn 'terrain' (sawdust bedding in stalls & sawdust & sand mixture in riding arena - & a brick aisleway!) are not conducive to the injury either. Your thoughts & anyone else's would be appreciated & be a real support - yes, I am unhappy with this 'state of mind due to the feet & lack of riding!' Thanks!

Re: Plantar Fasciitis, ongoing!

Ed Davis, DPM on 9/08/01 at 19:35 (059533)