Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

close to home

Posted by nancy s. on 9/12/01 at 11:41 (059971)

like many people today, i'm sure, i'm only beginning to come out of shock and start to absorb what happened yesterday. i feel so much grief for the people who died and for people who already know they lost loved ones and for people who don't know yet, who are in that awful limbo.
i was unable yesterday to reach by phone one of my oldest friends, from college, who lives in new jersey and whose fantastic daughter goes to school in lower manhattan and visited us this past summer.. finally last night i wrote her an email, ANNIE ANNIE, IS KATE OK??? i learned by email from her in the night that yes, kate is ok.
my younger brother and his family live just outside of DC, and my brother teaches at American University IN DC. They're fine, we learned as soon as they'd collected my two little nieces and gone home.
now today i learn that two of the hijackers flew out of the portland maine jetport yesterday morning, only 10 miles from my house. of course i couldn't have known that, but it puts a heavy weight on one's shoulders, wishing that you could have known and done something to stop them.
the jetport here will see very little air traffic, if any, for some time to come, they say. they found the rental car of two of the hijackers there in the parking garage, and it is now a crime scene.