Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Weight Weight Weight

Posted by Carmen H on 9/22/01 at 10:54 (061256)

I am sure that there has been a lot of information posted all over the board about weight but in reading some posts and seeing a few comments here and there I am a tiny worried that people might be doing the wrong things. Not that I am an expert...I am by no means that! Just have learned a lot in the years exercising, having a trainer years ago, working in the food industry, being a health nut, having a brother in law trained in diet and exercise etc. There are a few things people may not know and I thought I'd share....take what you want and leave the rest. If you have medical conditions other than foot problems these things may not apply to you or help you at all but hey! Thought I'd try.
1. Breakfast is the MOST important meal of the day (it wasn't a lie when they told you in elementary school)it starts your metabolism for the day.
A combination is good (eggs WHITES are the least fattening, toast and juice)
2. You should eat at least 5-6 times a day. 3 full meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) but in between a low fat, low calorie meal is necessary to keep the metabolism active and keep you satisfied so you don't OVEREAT at the big meals.
3. JUST a Protein diet with no carbs is NOT good. Your body needs a little of everything. ESpecially veggies and fruit. You deny it and it will react!
4. Going without food (not getting enough calories for your body type, starving yourself, skipping meals) puts your body in panic mode...it will start to store the food you are eating in your fat cells because it's not sure when you will feed it again. Eventually causing weight gain.
5. Just cutting down portions will make a drastic difference in your weight control.