Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Help, it's getting worse...

Posted by Eric Nelson on 10/02/01 at 12:55 (062070)

I'm 6'1' and 245lbs. I had been running 4 miles a day, lifting weights (including squats) twice a week, and playing tennis a couple times a week, and I rember hurting my right heeel during a tennis match. I stayed off it for a few days, and it went away. But about 6-7 weeks ago I started running 6 miles, and the next day my right heel was sore. It subsided, then every time I ran the six miles it got worse, until it hurt so bad in the morning I couldn't hardly walk on it, and I finally went to my HMO. My doctor said take Advil for one week, stretch in the morning, buy some inserts, and no running or tennis for 4-6 weeks. But after a week of stretching in the morning, Advil, and inserts, it still hurts after inactivity/morning (I'm a software engineer), in fact it may be slightly worse (so why bother w/inactivity?). I found more helpful info on your web site than at my HMO. I'm dying to get back to tennis and running. One thing that is lacking on the web site is information about recovery time-- did I miss it? I read the part about being patient, and how it could take months, but I mean what is the average recovery time? If I am able to get it rehabilitated to the point where I no longer feel any pain, does that mean I'm ready to rock? What if I just try to stretch, ice, aspirin, inserts, and maybe tape, could I maybe scale back a notch, say run three miles, tennis once a week, weights once a week-- what would be the risk of prolonged injury? If I can stay flat footed doing squats does that mean I'm not risking injury to my heel?

Thanks-- I've been really depressed about this and this site is awesome,
__e

Re: Help, it's getting worse...

Dr. Biehler on 10/02/01 at 13:53 (062072)