Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

tight tendons and what to do about them

Posted by Carole C on 12/14/01 at 15:57 (066973)

I'm pretty new to having heelspurs and PF. When I went to get my orthotics, the pedorthist mentioned several time about how *tight* I am, referring to how tight the various tendons or other soft tissues are, that run from my foot up through my ankle and lower leg. They are pretty tight all the way around my ankle and lower leg, and I think they might be a source of my pain. They do keep me up at night sometimes.

She recommended some stretching and showed me how to do it. I'm to put my leg on a sofa or bed, so that my knee is supported and doesn't hyperextend too much. Then I am to push down gently on my knee and point my toes up towards my face and inwards, and hold for a few seconds. At first she wanted me to tug on my toes with my hand, but when I looked pretty aghast she said I could just point my toes instead.

The shoes and orthotics she made me give my heel a bit of a lift, compared to the Birkenstocks I was wearing and still wear in the evenings, so that helps. But does the heel lift allow my tissues to tighten further?

When I am sitting at a desk, I can either put my foot straight down (in which case the weight of my leg falls squarely on my heel, and that hurts), or else I can extend my legs by straightening them so that the back edge of the heel of my shoe meets the floor, in which case my heel doesn't bear any weight, but my tendons/tissues feel overly stretched. That wasn't true a few weeks ago (but I have been breaking in my first Birks, and then my orthotics, during the past three weeks).

Could this tightness lead to TTS? I tried the 'tapping test', and it looks like I don't presently have it. I don't want it, either! Any comments are welcome.

Carole C

Re: tight tendons and what to do about them