Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Heel Spurs....???

Posted by Barbara J. on 1/22/02 at 21:48 (070926)

I am curious about Heel Spurs. I have recently been diagnosed with a heel spur on my left foot, and I had 4 differnt steriod shots in my foot. And it didn't help much at all! I am a severe diabetic with heart trouble. So I was advised by my doctors not to have anymore shots. I am also having problems with my right foot now too but the pain is in a differnt place.

So, I have a few questions...

#1- Can a Heel Spur come up anywhere on your foot?

#2- If not, Is there anything I can do to stop the pain every time i take a step?

I would really appriciate it if I could get these questions answered.
You can e-mail me at '(email removed)'

Thank You So Much!
- Barbara

Re: Heel Spurs....???

Julie on 1/23/02 at 03:37 (070943)

Barbara, I'm not a doctor, but while you're waiting for a response I suggest you read the heel pain book (just click on the blue link) for information about plantar fasciitis, its causes and its treatment. There is a great range of conservative treatments for it, and with knowledge of them you will be able to help yourself.

Just a few basic bits of counsel:

Find, consult and stick with a good podiatrist. A good podiatrist is one who has the knowledge and skill to evaluate your feet - including an analysis of your biomechanics - to determine the cause of the problem. With luck, s/he will also have the patience to work with you until you are better. It can take a while.

Never go barefoot. Keep a pair of shoes by your bedside and never let your feet touch the floor.