Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Surgery Decision ??

Posted by Gregory E Sturm on 2/10/02 at 16:17 (073276)

Hello and Thank You for answering my questions.

I have had foot pain(plantar fasciitis) for probably 15 years in varying degrees, but it has been getting persistantly worse. I'm a machinist/technician and am on my feet on concrete for 95% of an 8hr day and have been for 30 yrs. (51yrs old)

I have been seeing a podiatrist for over a yr now and we have exhausted all of the normal treatments: custom orthodics, stretching, exercises, ice, night splint ice boot and cortizone shot. All have helped slightly, but pain persists and is getting worse. I worked an extra night shift which put me out on the floor for a 13 hour day, two days a week for 4 months and it was a killer on my heels. A new pain evolved on the worst foot coming from the second to the little toe back causing a serious limp.
The podiatrist said it was from favoring the heels. He suggested shock wave treatments but area insurances have not yet approved. So we discussed EPF, endoscopic surgery.

I went for a second opinion to an orthopedic surgeon and when told of the extra foot pain he immediately took x-rays and discovered I had a stress fracture in just the bone I described. He is sugesting open surgery to release the fascia and he also cuts or removes a nerve that comes down from the ankle that may be entrapped to relieve pain. I seem to have more confidence in this man and methods but am not sure what to do.

I would appreciate a third e-mail opinion, realizing that it is based soley on what little information I have given you.

Thank You for your help and advice.
From a real 'pain in the heel'

Greg Sturm

Re: Surgery Decision ??

Dr. Zuckerman on 2/10/02 at 16:26 (073280)

Hi