Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Dr. Zuckerman...

Posted by Tom M on 4/13/02 at 20:50 (079565)

Are you familiar with Horizon PPO and how much they'd cover? What is the success rate of ESWT? I understand surgery is not always effective? I have the molded shoe inserts, but haven't seen any results. I've had 4 injection without benefit. My podiatrist uses a mixture of lidocaine, dexamethasone, and triamcinolone. As a pharmacist, I have doubts about the stability of this combination. Do you recommend a splint or special sock? I'm 6 feet tall 260lbs and haven't been able to run since October. I'd like to get back to my distance running. Is there any hope? Many thanks!

Re: ...or any of the MDs here

Tom M on 4/13/02 at 20:51 (079566)

thanks

Re: Dr. Zuckerman...

Dr. Zuckerman on 4/13/02 at 23:00 (079572)

Hi

I am very familiar with Horizon PPO. The sucess rate of ESWT is about 80%
We are getting coverage with Horizon for ESWT. If you would like our ESWT
informational packet . Please e-mail me at (email removed)

Dr. Cozzarelli on 4/14/02 at 05:54 (079584)

Hi Tom:

I was previously a pharmacist and the cocktail injection is fine. This is quite common that a short acting steroid along with a long acting steroid be utilized. The problem is how many times are you qoing to be injected. ESWT is a better choice. The surgical procedures involved vary dpending on what the problem is. I think that Dr. Zuckerman is on the money suggesting ESWT. It is non-invasive, realitvely high success rate. Have you had physcial therapy? Niht splints do help quite a bit. There are anterior and posterior splints available.

Dr. John Cozzarelli

Re: C

paula on 4/14/02 at 12:09 (079611)

first i've heard there are anterior and posterior night splints. how do i find out more?

paula on 4/14/02 at 12:10 (079612)

i mean Dr. C.

Dr. Cozzarelli on 4/14/02 at 16:42 (079635)