Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

question for a doctor

Posted by kay on 5/14/02 at 10:26 (083824)

i am seeing a ortheapedic for my feet.
i have p.f. and he says i have nerve problems also as they are burning and tingling. i can press on the bottom of my right foot and feel my nerve in the second toe on top.
i cannot have the ossatron as my insurance will not cover it.
so i will have open surgery in june...i've tried everything else.
everything i read about this says i will not be able to work for a long time. if i have each foot done separately will i be off longer than a year from april 16th? the reason i am asking is i am being told by friends to file for temp disability.
i am reading that it takes 7 months or more after surgery to walk good on the foot. i work in a factory and i need to be in good shape before i go back. so if i had surgery and it took that long, then i had the other one done i will be in the poor house and out of sick pay from my employer.
help.
kay

Re: question for a doctor

J. King on 5/14/02 at 14:23 (083848)

Does your employer provide light duty for those with temporary disabilities? In other words, will your employer provide you with some work where you can be off your feet?

kay on 5/14/02 at 15:03 (083855)

absolutely not! unless i was injured on the job then they would go out of their way to find me work. i do not want to live the rest of my life on disability. i only want help while i cannot work. i have worked since i was 12 years old except for from 18-28 while my kids were little. now i am 46. way to young to retire.
kat

J. King on 5/14/02 at 18:14 (083896)

Yes, I know, I had to throw in the towel at 52 because my feet and wrist and shoulder gave out. I was a postal worker and 99% of postal jobs require standing and walking.

SHIVELY9@PRODIGY.NET on 5/14/02 at 18:27 (083901)