Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Bone Spur

Posted by Carolyn J on 6/14/02 at 09:06 (087572)

I have been diagnosed from an xray as having a heel spur. I was diagnosed today in Augsburg Germany near my new home. I am surprised to find a typical cause of this condition as weight gain.....in the last 18 months I have lost 65 pounds (am now at 95lbs, 59') through dieting and increased exercise. I do aerobics and dance every morning and have experienced the heel pain since last June 2001. It has increased so significantly that I am often unable to walk without extreme pain, although during exercise I experience less pain. I do not yet fully understand the German language and have found myself lacking in valuable information as to possible treatment. I found this site in an attempt to understand what the diagnosis meant! I am a dance and aerobics teacher and cannot take a chance of further injury from my knees or hip due to poor control of walking properly. What would be the best route for complete recovery...surgery or periodic cortizone injections? I need some idea of a direction prior to my next consultion with the sports medicine facility next week. Please help!

Re: Bone Spur

Dr. John Cozzarelli on 6/14/02 at 10:13 (087581)

Hi Carolyn:

You are lucky you are in Germany. ESWT has been used there for many years. I would seek the services of an orthopedic doctor who is comfortable with this non-invassive treatment. That is the direction you should go in.

Dr. John Cozzarelli

Carole C in NOLA on 6/14/02 at 11:29 (087592)

Carolyn, something else you should do is to read the heel pain book on this website. It describes many of the treatments for your pain that you can do yourself.