Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Doctors: HOW do you get diagnosed

Posted by Ginger S. on 10/15/02 at 16:21 (097558)

Hi! I'm a newbie to the board, and you all seem so very knowledgeable about this that I thought I'd ask a question.
If you don't want the history, skip down to 'MY QUESTION'

My HISTORY:
I have been to about five or six different doctors. Ever since I was sixteen, I've had terrible pain in my right foot. I'm VERY flat-footed and I have always worked retail (which has been a sheer hell) except for two years ago when I had to quit. I teach school now, which offers me better flexibility (I CAN sit when the pain is too bad), but the pain is bad. I also have the shooting electrical pains (which are so bad they make me jump as if I'm being electrocuted on my foot) and numbness in some of my toes.

I have been diagnosed with heel spurs, bursitis, flat feet (doh!), and PF. I have been told to exercise (which HURTS), soak my feet, wrap them with tape (which helps a LITTLE), take cortisone shots (I had five and they did NOTHING--the next day the pain was there) and wear orthotics (they help a little). I've taken Vioxx, Oruvail (?), Ibuprofin and Tylenol. The Vioxx helps the best, but I wish I could get off taking ANYTHING. Looks like Doctors would treat the problem, not the symptoms.