Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Heros come in the form of teenagers.........

Posted by marie e on 2/05/03 at 16:11 (108106)

As many of you know already I am a high school teacher. I wanted to share this sweet little story because so often we only hear the bad news about teens today.

A couple of months ago two of my freshmen girls approached my desk. They were full of questions about my feet. They asked me what I did after school and how often I got out. They asked me when the last time I went shopping at the mall. I told them I hadn't been shopping in a mall for over a year...before my tts. I explained how much effort it was to load up a wheel chair and aside from that I had to take someone to help me get in and out etc..... The girls went back to their seats and chatted a bit along with some giggling. They came back up to my desk with big grins on their faces and announced 'Mrs. E we are going to take you to the mall on a shopping trip. My grandma has a Bonneville that we can borrow that will fit the wheel chair. The only thing is we have to take back roads to Ft Wayne because I'm afraid to drive on the interstate.' Mind you we live about 45 minutes from ft wayne and these girls only have their learners permits. I was thinking to myself I hope tranquilizers are part of the deal because I don't think I could survive the trip emotionally. These girls melted my heart....they are my heros. They finally have the trip all organized except grandma is going to drive...that way I won't have to be drugged. Our trip is in two weeks...I'll keep you guys posted about how it goes.

marie

Re: Heros come in the form of our students......

Suzanne D on 2/05/03 at 17:10 (108108)