Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

2 Months Post-ESWT

Posted by Julie C. on 2/09/03 at 14:06 (108593)

I am two months post-ESWT with the OssaTron and find my pain has over the last 8 weeks gradually increased to a point where it is now worse than the day I had my treatment. (Let's say it was an 8.5 before and now it's a 9.5...I would label the pain a 10 except that I hate to call anything a 10--I'm saving that number for later!) I spent the day of treatment and 2 other days at home and went back to work on the 3rd post-op day, (I'm an OR nurse.) Day 4 and 5 off, Day 6 and 7 worked, then off 10 days because I locked up my sacro-iliac joint. The first week back to work after my back episode wasn't bad because I was on evenings during a holiday week and the case load was really low. As the numbness that I had the first post-op week has worn off, the pain gets worse. Here's my question: how likely is it that the 2nd ESWT treatment will work better than the first one? I'd love to know the stats from research and from your personal experience with your patient load. And (because my personality type always wants to know) WHAT IF the second treatment doesn't work? Then what? Suffice it to say, I am frustrated beyond description at the pain and the distraction of dealing with it. Thanks in advance for any information! Julie C.

Re: 2 Months Post-ESWT

Mar on 2/09/03 at 16:15 (108604)

Julie -

I had no relief from ESWT #1 and they told me that there were good stats for people in that situation to get relief from ESWT #2. I had #2 in August and am no better than when the PF first started -- I was maybe a slight bit better after #1, but that has been lost. I used to have a day or 2 here and there without extreme pain. Now I always have extreme pain. So I'm wondering what the stats are for ESWT #3! Let's hope the docs can answer both our questions. Good luck -- Mar