Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Any UPS drivers suffer from TTS?

Posted by Craig on 2/21/03 at 21:10 (110257)

I am a UPS driver and am suffering from Tarsal Tunnel Syndrom. I have been to see a podiatrist and a Orthapedic Surgeon. Both agree on the diagnosis. The problem is I am trying to claim it as work related and the company is giving me a hard time about that. They say it is an illness not an injury. So I want to know if anyone else working for UPS has either had this surgery and was it claimed as work related. I have had to deal with the pain for many years now and would really like to get it taken care of.

Re: Any UPS drivers suffer from TTS?

Ed Davis, DPM on 2/21/03 at 22:21 (110264)

Yes. Repetetive motion can be the culprit. Going in and out of the truck, coming down on one foot.

Think very carefully about how you get in and out of your vehicle. You and your docs will need to be good 'detectives' in order to identify the motion that may be causing TTS.

There is a distinction made between work related injuries and work related diseases. Acute injuries are usually easily accepted by Worker's Comp carriers. Cumulative trauma disorders such as carpal tunnel syndrome and tarsal tunnel syndrome are generally classified as work related diseaes and carry a higher burden of proof. There is a lot of documentation on carpal tunnel syndrome but much less on the work relationship of tarsal tunnel syndrome.

You will need docs who are wiling to stand behind you on this and probably a good worker's comp. attorney.

lara t on 2/22/03 at 08:14 (110285)