Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

drs, question about my orthotics

Posted by Mary Y on 3/24/03 at 03:55 (114137)

Hi,

I have been wearing custom made orthotics for ten days and have no improvement. I still have symptoms of tarsal tunnel syndrome. My ankle hurts more than my arches do. My podiatrist (I don't plan on going back to him) had gone on vacation on the day that I received them. Approx, how long does it take to feel the effects of the orthoses?

Thank you very much for all of your help!!

Re: drs, question about my orthotics

Pauline on 3/24/03 at 08:44 (114148)

Mary,
My advice and I'm no doctor is not to throw your Pod away just yet.

You may need some adjustments on those orthotics and he's the man to do it. Set up another appointment and go back for adjustments to see it that will help with the pain caused by your orthotics.

Some people do well with them others post that they cannot wear their's without severe pain. Like you they report more pain with than without.

Don't burn your bridges with that Pod until you've worn out your welcome with those orthotics. Who knows you might even get some of your money back should they not work out.

In the mean time, if they are causing you great pain remove them until the man returns from vacation. Hopefully he'll return in a week or two.

Richard, C.Ped on 3/24/03 at 12:29 (114230)

Hi Mary...
Basically, ten days is not long at all in the scheme of things. I have had people take up to six months for either the symptoms to go away or for a total healing. Everyone is different. I dont know if you slowly started wearing them, such as 30 to 60 minutes the first day, and slowly incresing time each day.