Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

For Yasmin

Posted by Julie on 4/03/03 at 14:49 (115316)

Hi Yasmin

Thanks for your email with your address. I did receive the two you sent a week or so ago, but the mail I've tried several times to send you keeps bouncing back at me with a message that says there is something missing from the domain name. Perhaps you could check this out. (Also, your email address never appears at the top of your emails, so they can't be responded to by using the reply button.)

Anyway, here is the best I can do in response to the several questions you asked about orthotics. Remember that I'm not an expert and am speaking only from my experience, so it would be a good idea for you to post the questions you asked me on the board so that one of the doctors or pedorthists can give their opinion.

Here's the email:

Hi Yasmin

It's easy for me to give you my opinion (from experience) on orthotics. I'm a great fan of them, as long as they are correctly casted and made. (More about that later.)

Since you over-pronate, and since taping is effective for you, orthotics (well made!) will almost certainly help you. Yes, there's a price to pay, which is that you do have to wear them all the time, and that does mean limiting your shoe wardrobe. Orthotics that fit into a good, supportive trainer will not fit into a dress shoe with high heels and pointed toes (but you really shouldn't be wearing shoes like that anyhow, as I'm sure you know).

I over-pronate also, and I have had orthotics since I got PF. I have
absolutely no doubt that they were a big factor in my healing. I have been fine for two years, but I still wear my orthotics all the time (when I'm not in my Birkenstocks, which I always wear indoors).

This just seems sensible to me. My orthotics were made to correct a