Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

scared need info

Posted by Marilu H on 4/14/03 at 16:10 (116107)

Hi, I am new to the message board. I am getting conflicting information from my doctors and am getting nervous. I have very high arches-the orto pedist said only about 2% of people have arches this high. He said I had plantar fascitis even though the pain I was experiencing was on the top of my foot. Originally my primary care Dr. said to get specially made orthotics which I did. At first they seemed to work but then the outside of my feet started to hurt so bad I could barely limp and once when I was feeling good I went for a walk in deep snow and must have twisted weird and had a serious set back. Then it would start to feel better and get worse again. By the time I got to see the orthopedist I am seeing now I was really hurting.-My orignal primary care would not give me a referral to an orthopedist close to me( anyone close to me was outside of this dr.s hospital association) so I ended up changing primary care physicians to be able to get to go to an orthopedist I didn't have to drive 50 minutes to get to. But before I went to my current orthopedist.I had a visit with the one originally recommended. HE examined me and did nothing for the pain told me I had a back problem and would need an MRI and probably would need an appointment with a surgeon. I have no back pain other then caused from limping. I had a car accident 6 years ago that gave me a lot of muscle problems in my neck but I am feeling better then I ever did since that happened. He wanted to insist that that was causing the pain in my foot. To say the least I was shaken up by what he said. I then changed Dr.'s and am seeing this orthopedist since March.He recommended not wearing orthotics getting lambs wool slippers and lots of exercises and Celebrex-which I didn't take-Have a hard time with medicines and wa