Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

a jogger-when stretching feels like tearing at heel

Posted by james e on 4/15/03 at 00:29 (116151)

a jogger(not runner)-15 yrs,3 miles,10 mim.miles,4 times a week.am 45yrs old.have never had any leg-foot problems.had shin splits kinda bad for 2days-ran through them like a dummy.when i stretch by 'pushing' against a wall, my right heel at the very back-bottom feels like something is ripping or tearing,but all is fine when i let up.no pain in walking.even when jogging i don't notice it.the only time it occurs is if i am pushing something heavy(the pushing the car example).have decided not to jog for awhile. don't know if this is something that needs to be looked at.any/all info would be great. thanks, mike

Re: a jogger-when stretching feels like tearing at heel

Carole C in NOLA on 4/16/03 at 12:56 (116304)

Mike,

First, to be clear, I am not a doctor but someone who has plantar fasciitis (PF). However, I noticed that nobody answered so I thought I'd contribute my two cents.

Pushing against a wall like that is very hard on the plantar fascia. You might be experiencing the first symptoms of PF. Believe me, PF is not something you want to mess around with because it can take a very long time to recover from it, and it can become disabling. You need to stop doing anything that causes that ripping or tearing sensation for at least a couple of months. Then if there is any damage, it will have a chance to heal over those two months.