Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Very disgusted, help please!

Posted by Mary Y on 4/16/03 at 04:12 (116261)

I just went to see an orthopedist. He has done a fellowship in foot and ankle care. I showed him my NCV test that indicated tarsal tunnel syndrome. He looked at both feet and both ankles and stated that I have achilles tendonitis and not tarsal tunnel syndrome. He told me to do the runners stretch and the stretch where you stand on a step. He also told me to use gel heel cups. He stated that my leather orthotics are not good. I paid $286.00 out of pocket for them!!

He said if I am walking on carpet, it is okay for me to be barefooted.

I am really disgusted now and don't know what to do. Any suggestions?

Thank you very much!

Re: Very disgusted, help please!

Carole C in NOLA on 4/16/03 at 13:16 (116307)

I'm not a doctor, but another Achilles tendonitis (and PF) sufferer.

My suggestions are:

NEVER go barefoot, not even on carpet.

NEVER do the runner's stretch or the stretch where you stand on a step; they will really mess up your Achilles tendon. Do lots of gentle stretching, like Julie's Yoga stretches (click on the word Yoga for a description of them).

Ice your feet.

Throw away the gel heel cups.

If your orthotics seem to help, wear them (or Birkenstock Arizonas) all the time, and wear shower shoes in the shower.

Rest your feet as much as you can.

FIND ANOTHER DOCTOR OR PODIATRIST! I believe this ortho is leading you down the wrong path if you wish to heal. You are right to question what he is saying. You need to find a better foot professional.

Carole C

Carole C in NOLA on 4/16/03 at 13:19 (116309)

P.S., in my other post I am assuming that this ortho is right and you have Achilles tendonitis, which I have (along with PF) and which I feel I have learned about the hard way. I don't know ANYTHING about Tarsal Tunnel.