Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Heel spur surgery

Posted by Frank B on 5/08/03 at 15:50 (118112)

I have been under a podiatrist's care for heel spurs in my right foot for about four months. Despite custom orthotics and 3 shots of cortisone, I still have pain when I walk. The pain has improved some, but I still can't walk any great distances. My doctor has suggested the possibility of surgery. The weird thing is he thinks the problem is caused by the fact that my big toe doesn't flex as far as it should.So the surgery he recommends is one to fix the toe. I have done some research and have not come across any information on this surgery. Is it common? Can it help?

Re: Heel spur surgery

Pauline on 5/08/03 at 16:52 (118122)

Frank,
I'm no doctor, but before you have this surgery try exercises to see if you can gain more flexibility in the toe. See if you can improve it on your own.

What my big time fear is that you will have the surgery and be no better off. Spend some time reading the surgery board and see how many posters have had surgery only to report they are now left with more pain.

Foot surgery sounds great, the magic bullet that promises you'll be pain free, but unfortunately this doesn't seem to be the case. Even the doctors here will tell you to try ESWT for P.F. before under going surgery.

If I had had all the surgeries suggested to me by various podiatrist since 1997 I would have had toe surgery to straighten one that was curved, my big toe nail completely removed, my neuroma cut out, my plantar fascia cut, an extra bone in my ankle (ha never there) removed and a beginning bunion shaved. A real bunion never developed I might add.

To date I've had none of them and my feet are just fine. I have all TEN of my toe nails polished weekly even the one that 'just had to come out'