Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

what is the best shoe??

Posted by betty w. on 6/07/03 at 18:52 (121272)

I was just diagnosed with plantar facititis in both feet. My biggest problem is that I work in retail in a huge store that requires me to walk and be on my feet for 8-10 hours a day. It's getting more and more difficult to get through each day. I'm not 'allowed' to wear sneakers or sneaker type walking shoes (without a doctors note). I know I could get a note if that is the best type of shoes to wear.

I'm currently wearing a shoe that is made by fly flot. Its a clog type shoe with a sling back, the shoes are anti shock, anatomic and have an area in the front for the toes to rest on. I have spent so much money on shoes over the last several months and nothing seems to be working.

I also purchased a pair of 'over the counter' orthotics from a podiatrist office. I was told to wear them for an hour the first day and gradually increase the time worn every day. I've had them for two days now and my feet hurt more than normal. I've been doing my foot exercises and am wondering if everthing together has just been too much.

If anyone has any suggestions on what type of shoes I should be wearing or any other information I would greatly appreciate it.

Re: what is the best shoe??

Suzanne D on 6/08/03 at 08:24 (121285)

Hi, Betty! I'm sorry about your pain. It seems that most of us who post here have PF (and varying other foot problems) in both feet. So we understand what you are going through. And many of us have jobs that demand that we be on our feet all day (I'm a teacher.), so we understand that, too! You've come to a great place for information and understanding. If you haven't already, I urge you to read The Heel Pain Book on this site - just click on the link here - as it is full of great information and treatment suggestions.