Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

A new doctor's opinion and More therapy

Posted by Linda on 6/18/03 at 05:44 (122199)

I went for a second opinion this monday,and the podiatrist i saw told me the doctor i have been going to is an excellent doctor. The only thing he said is that the orthotics he made me don't have enough support,and they are too flexible,so I am paying $375 for a new pair.
Are orthotics really worth it? Why won't insurance companies cover them?
You always need half the cost up front and the balance when delivered.
I am back in physical therapy,which i started Tuesday. The therapist said i have good range of motion,but a lot of swelling. I almost died when he pressed my tibias on both legs. I am going to have ultrasound,ems,whirlpool, taping, and massages again. I have been doing physical therapy on my feet for 11 yrs on and off now. As soon as i stop my feet kill a few weeks later. Why? Why do they only feel good in therapy?
I was told that Eswt wasn't a good idea because of my history. Why? I wanted to try it.
I thought going to another city would be different,but i guess not.

Re: A new doctor's opinion and More therapy

Dr. Z on 6/18/03 at 07:16 (122204)

Hi

So all of your pain is in the area that we typically call shin splints and not your feet. Has any one told you that you may have stress fractures in that area. Shin Splints are where your anterior tibial tendon is stressed and may even pull off the bone in small areas causing small micro-fractures. May be able to guild you better with more information

Linda on 6/18/03 at 14:29 (122255)