Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

PF or nerve entrap? Question re diagnostic shot

Posted by chrisb on 6/25/03 at 10:18 (122892)

I said I'd report back on this so here goes. I'd appreciate feedback from one of the docs or anyone who has this experience.
I am a resistant 2.5 year case and they're wondering if now most of my problem may be trapped nerve and only to a lesser extent PF. I was thinking of ESWT and have been told that since ESWT does nothing for nerve entrap, it would be good to rule this out first. I currently have an odd flare happening, so my doc thinks this may be a good time to try a diagnostic shot to find out. (footpain.org describes calcaneal nerve entrapment as 'pain can mimic PF but does not increase with first morning step. Diagnosis is made by numbing point of max tenderness and determining if pain disappears while anaesthetic is working') I'm not a medical pro but this approach seems quite logical to me.

2 hours ago my doc injected marcaine to the area where the nerves sweep around the ankle under my instep, i.e not at fascia insertion point but a bit above and to the side. I'm keeping mostly off the foot but now feel no pain walking carefully around the house. Sensation in my foot appears to be normal, except for the frozen area about the size of a Canadian Toonie right at the fascia insertion point. The maracaine will wear off in 4 hours or so, and I'm reporting back to my doc Friday.

Here's my BIG QUESTION: since the fascia insertion point is frozen, wouldn't this also freeze any pain from a micro-tear in the fascia? In other words how do I know for sure that this points to nerve inflammation and not fascia micro-tear?