Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Allergic to Ibuprofin

Posted by Lori on 7/12/03 at 14:02 (124227)

I was diagnosed with PF 2 years ago, although I think I've had it off and on for 7 or 8 years. I am a first grade teacher and on my feet all day. I have orthotics, but it is not enough. I can't take ibuprofin (developed the allergy after my second child was born when I developed asthma-asthma's gone, but the reaction was so severe, I've not been willing to try ibuprofin or aspirin again). I'm wondering if I might be able to use ibuprofin gel directly on the feet. My reaction (and I have not taken it for 7 or 8 years-about the time I first got PF) was a totally stuffed up head, watery, itchy eyes, and wheezing for several hours. Presently, I take an herbal anti-inflammatory called Zyflamend and I just started taking Bromelaid (something like that).

Re: Allergic to Ibuprofin

Dr. Z on 7/12/03 at 14:30 (124232)

May want to try a local steriod injection or an oral medrol dose packet.
How much pain are you in?

Ed Davis, DPM on 7/12/03 at 14:55 (124242)

Lori:

I am familiar with Zyflamend. Can you tell if it has a postive effect?

Orthotics are one part of treatment for PF. Please read Scott's Heel Pain Book to make sure you are getting all of the necessary treatment.
Ed

Suzanne D on 7/12/03 at 20:50 (124279)

Hi, Lori! I'm not a dr. but another first grade teacher who was also diagnosed with PF two years ago. I understand!

My podiatrist prescribed Naproxin after taking a steroid pack for one week. Aleve is Naproxin, just not as strong as my prescription. Can you take that?