Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Exercising after TTS surgery

Posted by LORRAINE A. on 7/22/03 at 12:29 (124964)

I had TTS surgery last August. I am now trying to exercise and lose weight. I am doing fairly well, except when I set the treadmill for more than a 5% grade. My foot is swelling badly, although that has a lot to do with my weight. Can anybody out there give me some advise on exercising. I have lost 37 inches so far but am still 230lbs. I know that I need to lose the weight in order for my foot to realistically get any better.

Re: Exercising after TTS surgery

Lee L on 7/22/03 at 15:50 (124976)

Try water exrecise. I am an aquatics exercise instructor. You can workout just as hard in the water and even break a sweat (but you won't mind). The water offers resistence that land exercise doesn't, yet it is low impact. It has been proven to be good for improving bone density as well as muscle strength using the proper equipment. An added benefit of the water is that it helps in the reduction of swelling. The coolness of the water (it is usually below your body temperature - ours is 86 degrees) as well as the hydrostatic pressure (being surrounded by water) reduces swelling. It also helps in reducing blood pressure. You don't have to be able to swim to participate. You can find these classes by contacting your nearest YMCA or a fitness facility that has a pool. Some schools also provide these programs to the communiy in their pools in the evening. Good luck.

lauriel on 7/22/03 at 18:14 (124983)

Lorraine, I agree with Lee, and try water excercises or maybe a recumbant bike I have read some bad things on this board about treadmills and how they make things worse, I am doing water excercises and it has really helped ( I am almost 8 mos post TTS surgery)
Laurie

diana on 7/22/03 at 23:46 (125012)

Water exercise makes mine worse. diana

Re: dr today again