Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Healing slowly, but worried...

Posted by Lori W. on 8/01/03 at 18:57 (125933)

I am a teacher and have been diagnosed with PF for the last 2 years (had problems before that, but not severe). I have tried numerous cures and remedies with mixed results. This summer I decided to try rest, what a concept. Although I have not been off my feet completely, I am off them most of the time. Also, I put thicker pads on my orthotics and put them in SAS shoes. My feet are a lot better--but not healed. I've got 2 weeks left and I am worried. I just know that when I am on my feet all day, I'm just going to start all over. Although I have made modifications in how I teach, when you have first graders, you need to move around. I don't want another cortizone shot and I don't want to pay for Ossatron, which is the only option in my area. I've started using the foot trainer, I ice 3 times a day and take a herbal anti-inflammatory (Zyflamend) and Bromelain. Do you have any other suggestions? I've read that walking is good therapy, but would it be good for me if I'm on my feet all day? And then I've read that heat may be better than ice. What should I do? What should I add or subtract from my regimen?

Re: Healing slowly, but worried...

Suzanne D on 8/01/03 at 23:08 (125957)

Hi, Lori! I'm not a doctor, but I also have had PF for two years and also teach first graders, so I wanted to respond to your post.

First, I'm glad that you are better and that you have been able to rest during the summer. I certainly understand what you mean about having to be up and walking in the classroom!