Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Heel Spurs/Plantar Fasciitis

Posted by Bob on 8/02/03 at 11:12 (125994)

I have had pain in the back of my heel and my ankle for the past few months I have had both a bone sacn and an MRI but both came back normal. I was reading about heel spurs and how they show up on x-rays. Would they also show up on a bone scan or an MRI?What about Plantar Fasciitis
Thanks for your help!
Bob

Re: Heel Spurs/Plantar Fasciitis

Carole C in NOLA on 8/02/03 at 20:07 (126038)

I am not a foot doctor, but I have plantar fasciitis and heel spurs. It seems that heel spurs don't cause pain; plantar fasciitis causes pain. Heel spurs are thought to be the result of chronic plantar fasciitis. Apparently one can have plantar fasciitis without heel spurs (and heel spurs without plantar fasciitis).

So, if your doctor diagnoses plantar fasciitis then it sounds like that is probably what you have. If he did not give you a diagnosis, I would suggest that you ask him if he has one for you.

Hope this helps until a doctor can respond.

Carole C

Bob on 8/02/03 at 20:52 (126049)

My doctor did give me a diagnosis, he said it was tendonitis of the achilles but another doctor told me it should have heeled by now ( i've had it for about 5 months). Now I am trying to find something else it could be to ask the doctor about next time I go.
Thanks for the help
Bob

Carole C in NOLA on 8/03/03 at 11:03 (126095)

I was diagnosed with Achilles tendonitis when I got my diagnosis of plantar fasciitis. Achilles tendonitis tends to be accompanied by plantar fasciitis (PF) and vice versa. I'd say that chances are pretty good that you also have PF.