Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

ORTHOTICS GOOD OR BAD??

Posted by JOHN P on 8/03/03 at 10:28 (126093)

I HAVE PF AND WORN MY ORTHOTICS FAITHFULLY FOR 1 MONTH AND THEY ARE NOT HELPING. MY FOOT STILL IS HURTING. MY ORTHOTICS ARE FULL LENGTH OF THE FOOT AND ARE PADDED WITH THE ARCH AREA MADE OF HARD PLASTIC AND THE HEEL AREA LOOKS LIKE HARD STONE WITH A PADDED COVERING. I AM NEW TO ORTHOTICS, DO THESE SOUND LIKE AN APPROPRIATE TYPE OR AM I MISSING THE BOAT? THESE ORTHOTICS WERE PRESCRIBED BY MY PODIATRIST. WHAT EXACTLY DOES A PEDORTHIST DO??? WOULD THIS BE HELPFUL TO SEE ONE?? THANKS GOOD LUCK TO ALL.

Re: ORTHOTICS GOOD OR BAD??

Dr. Z on 8/03/03 at 18:20 (126124)

Hi,

Orthosis are just part of the treatment program. Yes they may need adjustment . You may need additional treatment such as local steriod injections. nsaid, physical therapy. This will all depend on the reason why you have pf. Do your orthosis hurt you?

JOHN P on 8/04/03 at 16:01 (126218)

the orthotics do not hurt me, they are not helping me. i am on naproxen for 2 weeks, strecthing, what else can i do?

Ellen J. on 8/04/03 at 21:04 (126242)

I'm not a doc, but I am a P.F. patient. I found that I could not wear those hard orthotics and they made my feet worse. I changed to some very soft, low orthotics and that made a big difference for me. My feet may not be anything like yours, and maybe you need alot of arch support but I thought I would mention it just in case you might want to try something softer. I have fairly flat feet and if I were to wear anything with alot of arch support, the pressure of the orthotic pushing on my arch would make it stay sore all the time. I tried that for a year or so. Now I wear only the soft type and sometimes no orthotic at all but I had to heal up a bit before going without any orthotics.
I hope you find the solution soon.
Ellen J.