Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Toe Nail is Thick

Posted by Charlie M on 8/14/03 at 22:39 (127001)

My to nail is thck and it looks like it is rotten away. What type of treatment will I need ? Will my toenail be removed ?

Re: Toe Nail is Thick

Carole C in NOLA on 8/16/03 at 08:29 (127106)

I'm not a doctor or a foot professional, and I have no medical qualifications, but until a doctor answers I guess my answer is better than none.

It sounds to me like maybe you have a fungus infection of the toenail, or something like that. Probably if you go to the doctor, he might give you some antibiotic. Your toenail might be removed if it is in really bad shape and going to fall off anyway. But if you object to that, you can always say 'no'. I don't think your toenail is likely to improve without seeing a doctor.

Carole C

Re: Toe Nail is Thick

Dr. David S. Wander on 8/16/03 at 14:27 (127132)