Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Cortisone Shots in foot

Posted by Deena W on 8/30/03 at 09:26 (128428)

Could a cortisone shot in the foot for Neuroma cause an increase in blood pressure? My blood pressure (top number) receently went up about 20-30 points and I am looking for a cause.

Re: Cortisone Shots in foot

dr ben pearl on 8/30/03 at 11:14 (128430)

No, the amount generally used is too small.

Sharon W on 8/30/03 at 11:49 (128435)

I'm not a doctor, I'm a patient -- but the same thing happened to me, all 3 times that I had steroid injections. And I really DON'T think that it was because my doctor accidentally injected a blood vessel all 3 times. I have a very long (since age 19, when I was very skinny) history of high blood pressure and I suspect my blood pressure is just more reactive, more hypersensitive than most people's would be.

Rose on 8/30/03 at 22:11 (128450)

My blood pressure went up very high when I was on pain medication. As soon as I stopped it became normal.

julie g on 8/31/03 at 02:02 (128451)

I had a problem with high blood pressure after having one shot. I also had a burning sensation in my face and neck and extreme reddening. I haven't slept well for over a week since my shot. I can't believe my doctor didn't tell me about this until I called him and asked him about the reaction. Anybody else have the same thing happen??

Deena W on 8/31/03 at 11:10 (128463)