Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Long term effects of taping?

Posted by Steve C. on 9/05/03 at 14:46 (128876)

I've been taping my right foot for about 9 months to relieve heel pain, (thank God for this web site, by the way) thought I should try and wean myself off the tape. I didn't tape for about a week, then went and played golf last weekend without the tape. Big mistake!

PF is back with a vengeance, with pain in the middle of my heel instead of the back of my heel as before. Went to a new DPM yesterday, he taped my foot, told me to keep it on for a week. Foot is sore, but I believe is starting to heel.

I'm wondering if there are any negative effects from long term taping of your feet? Anybody out there been taping for years?

Re: Long term effects of taping?

Rick R on 9/05/03 at 16:48 (128885)

I have been taping for over a decade. I used to tape every morning just to be able to function. Post surgery, I only tape for running, long days on my feet, on a ladder for more than a few minutes and other strenuous activities. My skin has toughened but other than that no long term effects. I do use a gauze of sorts so that no tape contacts the skin. I also use 11 mil contractor grade duct tape, not a good thing to apply directly.

Rick

R C on 9/05/03 at 19:12 (128895)

Rick,

I have been taping for about 2.5 years now. I taped continuously for about 6 months, and that helped a great deal but didn't cure the PF. So I did 4 weeks of hard cast + crutches, which really allowed for significant healing. Then for the two years since, I have been taping my foot first thing in the morning, every morning. The result is that I am now completely pain free.